Ill. Niklas Elmedhed. © Nobel Media.

  • The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry this early morning.
  • Mechanical engineer John B. Goodenough, chemist Akira Yoshino, and chemist and products scientist Stanley Whittingham will share the prize for their get the job done establishing the lithium-ion battery.
  • Alongside one another, their perform has paved a way for technical improvements in how we energy everything from smartphones to electric cars.

    The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences introduced this morning that it has awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to 3 scientists—John B. Goodenough, Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino—for their development of the lithium-ion battery. Lithium-ion batteries have reshaped the way we retailer energy, paving the way for a much more transportable, sustainably powered world.

    “We have obtained obtain to a complex evolution,” mentioned biochemist and Nobel committee member Sara Snogerup Linse of Lund College at a push meeting held by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

    At 97 a long time old, Goodenough, the Virginia H. Cockrell Chair in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, is the oldest laureate to have ever been awarded a Nobel Prize. The Nobel committee noted that it experienced not been equipped to access him this early morning to inform him of his win. Whittingham is a Distinguished Professor at Binghamton University, Condition College of New York and Yoshino is a professor at Meijo College in Japan and an honorary fellow at Asahi Kasei Corporation. The winners will share the prize of much more than $900,000.

    In reaction to the oil crisis of the 1970s, Whittingham created a more effective type of battery, which employed lithium and experienced a titanium disulphide cathode. Goodenough enhanced on the concept when he transformed the cathode to the far more productive cobalt oxide, leading to a more powerful battery. Yoshino then took the technological innovation to current market in 1985 with an current style that swapped the lithium anode for a petroleum coke anode, producing a thoroughly rechargeable battery that would go on to revolutionize the earth.

    On Thursday, the Nobel Prize committee will announce the prize in Literature, adopted by the Nobel Peace Prize on Friday. On Monday, the committee will award the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Financial Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.

Source backlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here